Cousin Silas – “Deserted Highways”/”The Lost and Fading Cosmonaught”/”Piece 32″/”BVV” – 270611

Much progress!

Cousin Silas contacted me over the weekend – he was happy with the rough mixes, although we both agree that …HIGHWAYS probably needs a little bit of “light” rhythm to complement it. No problemo!

He also sent me a first draft of his contribution to PIECE 32. Essentially this was a “sound-on-sound” overdub onto my original backing track. My first reaction was that his contribution was far superior to the original piece, so I suggested he redo his part solo and send it back to me. Got it this morning (working title BVV). It’s wonderful – and I can see space for me to add to the track. I’ll have a cut at this over the week.

Today, I toyed with the mix for …COSMONAUGHT and came up with two masters (one compressed – one not) via CE5, Cubase VST/24  and Adobe Audition 3, and I have sent them over to Cousin Silas for approval. I suspect he may prefer the uncompressed version – either way, he’s the gaffer, so I’ll be happy with whatever decision he makes.

More work tomorrow (hopefully…).

Regards,

djp

About happydaysinthegulag
Hmmm, well, let's see...

3 Responses to Cousin Silas – “Deserted Highways”/”The Lost and Fading Cosmonaught”/”Piece 32″/”BVV” – 270611

  1. If you look up BVV on Wikipedia, you get this:- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BVV or this:- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BVV_Barendrecht.

    Regards,

    djp

    • Cousin Silas says:

      Actually, the true meaning behind this title is that the first version I did, I saved it by hitting two keys on the keyboard. These happened to be BV, so when I put the next bit of diddly on it (part two, as it where), I thought about myself getting easily confused (which I do with great relish) and saved it as BVV. No mystery, no hidden meaning, just an idle fecker!

      The title, however, will no doubt be another personal hurdle, unless Dan can come up with a nice one?

Leave a comment