Cousin Silas – “Deserted Highways”/”The Lost and Fading Cosmonaught” – 220611

Did rough mixes of both tracks in CE5.

…COMSONAUGHT was pretty easy to do. I kept my “elements” very unobtrusive in the mix. I’m guessing the “slide” parts are probably a bit cheesy, but the track could live without them. The Ebow parts work well though, IMO.

…HIGHWAYS was a hoor of a track to mix, on the other hand. The original backing track seemed to have every frequency under the sun and wasn’t compressed, so the track gets really loud  and “full” in the “B” section to the effect it was drowning out my bass part. I didn’t want to crank the bass up too much because that would kill the track (and it’s not *my* project, anyway…). After much experimentation, I finally got the EQs and volumes of both the backing track and the bass parts to live in a form of peaceful co-existence. so the rough mix is, at least, “passable”…

Sent the mixes over to Cousin Silas by YouSendIt (his delivery medium of choice). Hopefully, I’ll hear something back from him before long.

That’s that project out of the way for the time being. Wonder what’ll turn up next?

Regards,

djp