Cousin Silas

You may not have heard of Cousin Silas before. If you haven’t, that’s your bad luck. He is one of the finest exponents of ambient music you can find. I am proud to be a fan of his work. Check out his website in the Blogroll area.

We have been thinking of doing some collaborative work together for a while. To that end, I have sent him three short pieces for him to consider, entitled (imaginatively enough), Piece 1, Piece 2 and Piece 32 (don’t ask…). All three pieces were programmed in CE5, using a variety of VST soft synth plugins:-

  • Piece 1 – Prologue (Trill Pad)
  • Piece 2 – Majken’s Chimera (Ancient Machine)
  • Piece 32 – Reaktor 5 (Suriya Jam)

In return Cousin Silas has sent me two pieces:- The Lost and Fading Cosmonaught and Deserted Highways. Of the two pieces, Deserted Highways is closer to the type of material I would do myself, but I can see scope for input in both tracks. To be honest, both tracks are perfectly fine “as is”, so hopefully my input will add to the tracks, rather than detract from them.

I hope to start some work on one or other of the tracks over the next few days. I will let you all know how things are progressing.

Regards,

djp