Cousin Silas – “Deserted Highways”/”The Lost and Fading Cosmonaught”/”Piece 32″/”BVV” – 270611

Much progress!

Cousin Silas contacted me over the weekend – he was happy with the rough mixes, although we both agree that …HIGHWAYS probably needs a little bit of “light” rhythm to complement it. No problemo!

He also sent me a first draft of his contribution to PIECE 32. Essentially this was a “sound-on-sound” overdub onto my original backing track. My first reaction was that his contribution was far superior to the original piece, so I suggested he redo his part solo and send it back to me. Got it this morning (working title BVV). It’s wonderful – and I can see space for me to add to the track. I’ll have a cut at this over the week.

Today, I toyed with the mix for …COSMONAUGHT and came up with two masters (one compressed – one not) via CE5, Cubase VST/24  and Adobe Audition 3, and I have sent them over to Cousin Silas for approval. I suspect he may prefer the uncompressed version – either way, he’s the gaffer, so I’ll be happy with whatever decision he makes.

More work tomorrow (hopefully…).

Regards,

djp