Cousin Silas – “Deserted Highways” – 110611

So I thought I’d make a start on the track.

First thing to do was to try and establish a tempo and time signature for the track. It has no rhythm as such, so this was no easy task. I need to have a tempo and time signature in order to have something to record and edit “against” – reference points if you will.

So I loaded the track onto CE5, and played around with it for a while. I think I have established that it runs at 66 bpm in 6/4. Or as near to that as makes no nevermind. I was messing around with a bass line on my Aria AMB-50 electro acoustic bass – a short repetitive loop that seems to tie in with the track when played alongside the metronome. I’ll have a go at recording the loop over the next few days and see how it fits. I don’t think there’s going to be any melodic conflict between the bass line and the track. If there is, then it’s always possible to drop the bass line out as required.

I also messed around with my Godman 12-string electroacoustic guitar to see if I could come up with something that would complement the track and the proposed bass line. Won’t be trying that again…;-). I understand that Cousin Silas might be a handy enough guitar player himself, so I’m not sure if my efforts might be worth pursuing, but we’ll see. Maybe a guitar part won’t be required…

BTW, if you’re not familiar with the Godman brand, apparently they’re the “world’s finest guitars”. Whether that statement be true or not, I’m just delighted that they put the bloody apostrophe in the right place…;-).

Regards,

djp