Daniel Prendiville & Peter Fitzpatrick – “From The Other Side Of The World” – 290712

Recorded 4 mandolin parts on the Tascam. No Pod, just DI’d. Audio cleanup in AA3 and inserted into the relevant project file in CE5

I should point out that I can’t actually play the mandolin, but I can pick out a bit of a melody line, which is all I really needed to do today.

Unfortunately:-

  1. the strings are way overdue changing and they wrecked my poor fingertips
  2. the mandolin is a right-handed teardrop mandolin (Ibanez M510E/BS-27-01, to be precise).. I’m left-handed, so I have to play the damn thing upside-down. Which isn’t easy to do with a teardrop, in that there is no way to rest the instrument comfortably on the lap. So I was sitting upright for two hours with my back hunched. Not terribly pleasant, but I got through it.

Much editing required, but I’ll have a go at that during the week.

I may be moving location to finish-off tracking, but I must do a bit of research first. All very mysterious…;-).

Regards,

djp