Daniel Prendiville & Peter Fitzpatrick – “From The Other Side Of The World” – 030812

Edited the mandolin, melodica,  sleighbells and bongo parts in CE5.

The bongos gave me the most difficulty. I had to search for 8-bar loops that were well played/timed, that I could then cut and paste throughout the track. 8 bars was too long, so I got down to the 4-bar level. I eventually found a loop that I thought was OK, but on reflection, the playing wasn’t quite crisp enough for me and only served to emphasise certain timing issues that cannot be sorted, so I decided to ditch the bongos altogether. The track sounds much sharper as a result. Great fun to play, but I need a lot of practice…;-).

I hope to program and edit MIDI drum parts on Monday, and then track vocals on Tuesday.

Regards,

 

djp

About happydaysinthegulag
Hmmm, well, let's see...

Leave a comment